Employers Take Note: Minimum Wages Increase in States Across the Country
By: Katharine Sangha
With the New Year, employers should make sure that they are up to date on the minimum wage laws applicable to their employees. As of January 1, 2019, the minimum wage has increased in the following 19 states:
*Listed minimum wage rate is for most large employers in the corresponding state. In California, the minimum wage for employers with 25 employees or fewer is $11.00/hour. In Minnesota, the minimum wage for employers with annual gross revenues of less than $500,000 is $8.04/hour. In New York, the minimum wage for employers in New York City and Nassau, Suffolk, and Westchester counties is higher.
On April 1, 2019, the minimum wage in Michigan will increase to $9.45/hour. On July 1, 2019, the District of Columbia’s minimum wage will increase to $14.00/hour, and Oregon’s standard minimum wage will increase to $11.25/hour (with a minimum wage of $12.50/hour applicable to Portland workers, and a minimum wage of $11.00/hour applicable to rural workers in the state).
In addition, the minimum wage in multiple counties and cities across the United States has increased as of January 1, 2019 or will increase later in the year. Employers should be aware of any local laws that may apply.
Finally, employers should note that Senator Bernie Sanders plans to introduce legislation in 2019 that, if passed, would increase the federal minimum wage to $15.00/hour by 2024. Stay tuned to Polsinelli at Work for further updates.